The Silver Jubilee of our Province


On 19th February, 2016, we began the Silver Jubilee year of the inauguration of our Unit of the Congregation in the Syro-Malabar Church. The official inauguration of the Region of Alwaye took place on 19th February 1992 at Chowara. The late Fr. Bernard Pereira, CSsR, the then Provincial Superior of the Bangalore Province, presided over the function. Fr. Eric Rodrigues, CSsR., the vicar of the Province, read the Decree of the Erection of the Region. In his address Fr. Bernard not only congratulated the members of the Region and those who took the bold step towards establishing a Region in the Syro-Malabar Church but also expressed his firm hope and conviction that the Region will soon grow into a Province and that its members will become missionaries in different countries of the world. These prophetic words of Fr. Bernard are already fulfilled.

After the inauguration, the first Regional Assembly was held and Fr. Michael Naickanparampil was elected as the first Regional Superior. The General Government by its decree dated 5th April, 1995, raised the Region of Alwaye to the status of an autonomous Vice-Province with its headquarters at Chowara. The decree became effective on 3rd July 1995, the solemnity of St. Thomas, the Apostle of India. The Vice Province of Alwaye was erected as Liguori Province on 27th June, 2008, with its headquarters at Liguori Bhavan, Mattoor.

Our membership has grown from 31 in 1992 to 98 members to date with 10 communities (8 canonical houses and 2 residences).

Province at a glance
                                1992 February                     2016 February
Members                        31                                            98
Clerical Brothers              15                                            30
Perpetual Members         19                                             75
Temporary Professed      12                                             23
Priests                            16                                             68
Houses                            2                                              10

On this joyful occasion of the Jubilee, we express our gratitude to God for His fidelity and providential care of us all along and to our Mother of Perpetual Help for her love and intercession. We also thank God for Frs. Michael Naickanparampil, George Areeckal, Clement Vadakedathu and all those confreres who have been instrumental in establishing and developing the Unit. As we gratefully bow our heads before God, let us also rededicate ourselves to living the authentic patrimony of our Church and to preaching the Gospel ever anew.
A committee consisted of Frs. Jaiju Kooran (Chair), Michael Naickanparmpil, George Areeckal and Anoop Mundackal has been appointed, to plan the silver jubilee celebration.
Fr. Joy Poonoly, CSsR
(Provincial Superior)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email